Plantain Arepas

Arepas are the staple street food in Venezuela and Colombia.  They are super easy to make and super delicious.  They are made using Masarepa, a precooked cornmeal (different than Mexican Maza). The taste is similar to a Mexican gordita, but it has a smoother consistency, and they are stuffed with your favorite ingredients.  Stuffing these babies are so much fun…the possibilities are endless.  So far I have only made plantain arepas and cheese arepas–both delicious.  But you can stuff these with shredded meat, chicken, veggies, or seafood. You could also try making a sweet version…I think that’s what I will attempt next time.

INGREDIENTS:

Arepas

  • 2 1/2 c. warm water
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 c. White Masarepa PAN brand (found in latin american store)

Arepa Directions:

  1. Place 2 1/2 c. warm water in bowl
  2. Add 1 tsp salt, 1 tbsp oil, and 1 egg and mix
  3. Slowly add approx. 2 c masarepa until it comes together into a smooth ball
  4. Form gordita-like disks about the size of your hand (you want them thick enough to cut through the middle to stuff)
  5. Cook on low/med heat in buttered pan about 6 minutes on each side
  6. Cut in half and stuff

Filling

  • Fried Green Plantains
  • Black beans
  • Avocado
  • Cotija cheese
  • Sour cream

Plantain Directions:

  1. Slice plantains 1/4 inch thick
  2. Fry plantains until they are cooked through
  3. Remove from oil and smash to flatten
  4. Fry again until golden brown
  5. Sprinkle with salt and cayenne pepper

Note: You can slice the plantains as big/small as you want. I found that the big slices were easier to eat in the arepas, but the smaller ones were easier to make as they broke less often.

Arepas Sandwich Directions:

  1. Cut arepa in the middle and add sour cream to both sides.
  2. Stuff the arepa with black beans, plantains, avocado, and cheese.
  3. Now take a big bite and enjoy!


9 Responses to “Plantain Arepas”

  1. Oh my…goodness to an extreme! These flavors are just wonderful :)

  2. These are new and interesting to me. They look very delicious and healthy too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. These look wonderful! I was just looking for an easy arepa recipe! Thanks for posting!

  4. I am in love!!! I tried making arepas once and I didn’t do such a great job…but I LOVE them and this filling could not be better. Fried green plantains are on my top 5 most favorite foods!

  5. Beautiful pictures, your Arepas look wonderful. I have never had anything like that but sure does look good!

  6. I have never tried Arepas, but am very tempted to make them after reading your post. WHat a fun dish!

  7. I love learning about new food. Thanks!

  8. Wow, that looks gorgeous. I’ve never seen plantains look really good, but I would eat those in a heartbeat.

  9. This looks amazing! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

