Pesto & Artichoke Bruschetta



Mark and I were invited to a party yesterday and I literally spent hours trying to decide what to bring.  The party was an outdoor BBQ so I thought I would make a summer salad. Then I was told that maybe it wouldn’t be a BBQ after all, just a party, so I came up with the perfect idea to make a Spanish Sangria, yum!  I figured it wouldn’t take me long to make, so I made a last-minute stop at the liquor store I had mapquested earlier. Turns out the liquor store I went to was no longer in existence. I spent an unecessary amount of time driving 3 mph back and forth until I pulled out my iphone only to find out their number was disconnected. You’re probably thinking, so? Go to the next liquor store…yes…but the nearest one was like 6 miles away–ridiculous!  I mean, this isn’t Utah anymore. I thought it would be like California with a liquor store on every block. Anyways, I had to come up with another plan, and fast. I decided to make bruschetta since I had most of the ingredients at home, and they were easy to make. On the way to the party Mark and I thought it would be best to taste one to make sure it was good–and it was so good!  We ended up having three each, and would have had more if it didn’t thrown off the balance of my carefully assembled baguettes. Within five mutes of arriving at the party the entire plate of bruschetta was cleaned off. Everyone loved them. Great success.

Ingredients:

  • 1 baguette, sliced
  • Store-bought or home-made pesto
  • Artichoke Tapenade or canned artichokes, chopped
  • Tomato
  • Fresh Mozzarella
  • Italian flat-leaf parsley
  • Olive oil
  • Salt + Pepper
  • Lime
  • Gorgonzola (optional)

Directions:

  1. Slice baguette, drizzle with olive oil and place in pre-heated oven (400*) until golden brown
  2. Spread a layer of pesto on sliced baguette and a layer of artichoke tapenade
  3. Slice tomatoes and mozzarella and sprinkle with salt, pepper and a bit of lime. Assemble on sliced baguette.
  4. Add a tiny piece of gorgonzola at the top of baguette
  5. Sprinkle parsley to garnish
  6. Finish off with drizzle of olive oil.
2 Responses to “Pesto & Artichoke Bruschetta”

  1. Susana Cueva-Lopez Says:

    I made this today after work and it was Wonderful!!
    it was sooo easy! I looked at the recipe, went to the store after work bought the ingredients. but I added something else. I included a sunny side egg to each person. and it was so good!!! I know egg for dinner but heck we loved it!

Leave a Reply

