Vodka Sangria–Cheers and Happy 21st Birthday to my Little Sister!

After more than a month living in Seattle I finally found my neighborhood liquor store.  I was on a mission today to pick up some Bombay Gin to mail to my little sister who is turning 21 years old.  Not only did I find a big bottle of Bombay Gin, it was packaged in a gift set with a pitcher (and in a really cute box, might I add)–it was perfect!  I was so ecstatic and ready to make the purchase when Mark, the voice of all that is legal, brings to my attention that it is a federal offense to mail liquor.  Actually, he told me this in the car before I entered the liquor store but it was my intent to not listen to him.  After all, I had to buy my little sister her first drink on her 21st birthday, right?  After many awkward minutes standing in line and jumping out, I decided to listen to my ethical side, Mark.  I mean, I should uphold the law now more than ever… I guess.  Even though I was disappointed, I didn’t leave empty handed (reference to this yummy drink). Plus, Mark and I were able to come up with a better (and legal) alternative to my sister’s birthday present.  This, however, must remain a secret, so all of you (including you, little Karina) must remain in suspense.

I made this drink for Mark and I tonight, and dedicated it to my little sister.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY KARI! May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the wings of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars. Cheers! I wish I could be with you to buy you your very first (legal) drink, but when you come out here to Seattle, I promise to take you out and buy you many drinks 🙂

Now, for the tasty and tipsy recipe:

Spanish Sangria is traditionally made with brandy, orange juice, and red wine. Fruit is added, such as apples, oranges, pears, and lime. The Sangria is refrigerated with the fruit for several hours, which enhances the flavors while the fruit absorbs all the alcohol–which makes for a good appetizer!

My version is a little different, and can be consumed right after making it. I used Passion Fruit Vodka, but you can use your favorite alcohol. I added pineapple at the bottom, and a mixture of the vodka, orange juice, pineapple juice and a bit of lime. I cut a round piece of orange and lime and let it float. Then I topped it off with a bit of red wine and blueberries.  As you can see in the picture, the orange slice helps the blueberries stay in the top of the drink making it look super awesome.

You can use any fruit you have on hand, as well as any juice and alcohol. To keep it in the Sangria category though, you might want to stick with a bit of orange juice and red wine.  Enjoy!


2 Responses to “Vodka Sangria–Cheers and Happy 21st Birthday to my Little Sister!”

  1. Karina Cueva Says:

    Damn you Mark hahaha. This is a great idea, I will try it tonight only i will use Gin instead of vodka of course 🙂 Thanks big sis.

  2. Beginning a niche site like yours got me to get started some study and that i found this page to be quite useful. My site is centered about the undeniable fact that you may starve cancer by countering the angiogenic process. I am hoping individuals good luck with your projects in the foreseeable future and I’ll definitely keep an eye on you.

Leave a Reply

