Cherry Berry Croissant Galette

I love making galettes, which is french for a flat pastry. I prefer making galettes to traditional pies due to it’s rustic simplicity.  Start out with making a traditional pie dough. Roll it out into a circle, add fruit to the middle, and fold all around. No need to grease a pie mold. No need to make it look pretty; this comes naturally to galettes. Simple rustic elegance.

This version is even simpler. I had some Pillsbury Croissant dough in my fridge which I used as my dough. Just roll out to a circle, add a mixture of cream cheese, top with fruit, jam, and bake.

Ingredients:

  • Croissant dough
  • Cream cheese
  • powdered sugar
  • lime zest
  • vanilla
  • berries
  • Jam
  • Egg wash
  • Optional: top with whipped cream or ice cream

Directions

  1. Use 2 croissant triangles per Galette
  2. Roll into a ball, then roll out into a circle
  3. Combine cream cheese, vanilla, sugar, and lime zest.
  4. Spread cream cheese mixture to middle of dough circle
  5. Top with your choice of either fresh, canned or frozen fruit
  6. Add some jam to the top
  7. Fold sides of dough towards the center
  8. Brush egg wash to top of dough to form a golden crust.
  9. Bake at 375 for about 10-15 minutes.
14 Responses to “Cherry Berry Croissant Galette”

  1. jacobskitchen Says:

    Genius! I love the idea of using croissant dough. Both easy and delicious! Thanks for sharing!

  2. This looks so amazing! Can I have one now?!?

  3. I agree with you, I love the rustic look of a galette.

  4. Susana Cueva-Lopez Says:

    this looks easy. something I can do. Thanks! I am now looking foward to this weekend when I can make this yummy Galette

  5. There really is a beautiful simplicity about a galette. Bravo!

  6. I’m convinced I need to make a galette in the near future! Yours looks mouth watering delicious!

  7. I’ve just scrolled through quite a few of your recent posts and you’ve got some wonderful recipes here. It’s not quite lunch time here and I’m starving now! Just made a savory galette myself recently. Your dessert version sounds delicious and is quite beautiful.

  8. I love how much simpler this would be than making a pie. And equally delicious! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  9. Your galette is gorgeous. I’d love one of those babies right about now!

    About your photography question…I have the same problem in Asheville. Late afternoon, early evening showers–ALWAYS when I need to take pictures!!! A good photography lamp helps, and is less expensive than a new camera–about $200-250!

  10. Cant believe how easy this is! It looks so good

  11. That is one beautiful galette, it looks absolutely delicious. It seems galettes are very polular. One of these days I have to make one. Love the idea of using croissant dough.

  12. Bravo! It looks so gorgeous it could be served at a brunch. Thank you for sharing your creation with us.

  13. Veronica's Kitchen Says:

    It’s beautifully presented and it must taste very, very good!

  14. lOOKS DELICIOUS mY HUSBAND IS NOT REALLY INTO SWEETS BUT HE WOULD DEFINETELY LOVE THIS!!! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!

Leave a Reply

