Going Green: Cauliflower Taquitos & Green Chili with Zesty Lime Sauce

I realize I’ve posted a few avocado-based dishes this week, and I feel like I must explain. See I bought a big bag of avocados at the store because it was on sale for $2. I could not get over the deal I got so I went back and got another bag. Now I am left with a whole bunch of avocados and I am having a lot of fun experimenting with them. I’ve never really had the chance to do this since they are usually so expensive, but now is my chance. I only wish I had an ice cream maker so I could make avocado ice cream!

I won’t bore you with everything I use my lovely avocados for, but I will post my favorites. This is one of them: taquitos filled with cheese and a mixture of cauliflower avocado and lime. Serve this with a hearty & tangy green chili and you will get the best combination of flavors you could ask for.

Making everything at once was a little time-consuming, so I would recommend you make the lime sauce in advance, and maybe even the cauliflower mixture. Then all that would be left to do is make the chili and assemble and fry the taquitos. Frying things is my least favorite part of the cooking world, specially when the house is hot. But lucky for me I only had to fry up four of these for dinner. Thank god I don’t have a large family, or I would probably despise cooking. Growing up my mom would actually make a giant pyramid of taquitos every time. It was beyond reason but they always managed to be consumed. I remember she would ask me to keep an eye on them while she went to go “check” on something. This was her sneaky way to get a little break from all the hot frying. But I was sneaky too. I would just let them burn…and guess who wasn’t asked to look out for them anymore. Moi! But guess who had to eat burned taquitos…haha, no, not me. My mom was way too nice to us, more than we ever deserved.

And now, to the recipe:

Cauliflower Cheese & Lime Taquito Ingredients:

  • Corn tortillas
  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • Zesty Lime Sauce, recipe below (about 1/3 c) (goes inside cauliflower mix)
  • Salt + Pepper
  • Pepper jack cheese, about 1/2 c.
  • Provolone cheese (or other)

Taquito Directions:

  • Steam cauliflower until soft. If you boil it, make sure there is no excess water.
  • Mix rest of ingredients together, minus the provolone cheese
  • Place tortillas in microwave inside plastic bag and heat for about 30 seconds
  • Place a piece of provolone cheese on tortilla. Top with cauliflower and roll into a taquito.
  • Place carefully in oil, making sure the tortilla does on unroll.
  • Fry until brown on both sides
  • Serve with veggie green chili.

______________________________________________________________________________

Veggie Green Chili with Zesty Lime Sauce

Veggie Green Chili Ingredients: (serves 4)

  • 1-2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped finely
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Jalapeno pepper, minced
  • 3 stocks celery, chopped in small pieces
  • 3 carrots, chopped small
  • 1 zucchini, chopped small
  • Salt, pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • About 2 c. vegetable or chicken stock
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 can cannellini beans, drained
  • About 2 c. green enchilada sauce
  • Garnish: Zesty lime sauce (below), fried tortilla strips, purple cabbage, cheese

Chili Directions:

  • Add onion to hot oil. Cook for about 2 mins. Add garlic and jalapeno, cook for 1 min. Add celery, carrots, zucchini and cook for 3 minutes.
  • Season with salt, pepper, cumin, and oregano
  • Add veg/chicken stock, tomatoes, corn, beans and green enchilada sauce
  • Simmer in low/med heat for about 25 minutes
  • Turn heat down to low and simmer for another 30 minutes
  • If it gets too thick, add more enchilada sauce
  • Garnish with fried tortilla strips, zesty lime sauce, and cheese.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Zesty Lime Sauce

Zesty Lime Sauce

  • 4 tbsp sour cream
  • 2 1/2 tbsp mayo
  • Juice of 1/2 – 1 lime, to taste
  • Handful of cilantro
  • 1-2 Serrano peppers, to taste
  • 1/2  avocado (add more if you want it thicker)
  • 1 big clove garlic
  • Salt + pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp cumin

Zesty Lime Sauce Directions: Blend everything in food processor or blender until smooth. Taste and adjust to your liking. Refrigerate until ready to use.

15 Responses to “Going Green: Cauliflower Taquitos & Green Chili with Zesty Lime Sauce”

  1. yummm.. I love avocados… and you are right, they are usually super expensive – I love that you went back for 1 more bag. We made cauliflower last night…. but… I wish we had done what you did! Looks amazingly delicious!

  2. Wow! These recipes look so fresh and healthy! They are so colorful and vibrant. I really love this zesty lime sauce 🙂

  3. LOL Your taquitos look great and not burned at all! And now….your secret is out! Avocados are one of my favorite things and luckily we live in California so we have access to tons of them. Glad you got to enjoy them yourself!

  4. Yummm! There is no such thing as too many avocados….I am excited to try your Zesty Lime Sauce, looks great!

  5. These are great snacks! I love the cauliflower filling, a very new recipe for me. We make snacks with phyllo sheets similar to your taquitos but we use just cheese&parsley mixture and then fry it. I would like to try this one when cauliflower is in season here.

  6. those taquitos look amazing! keep having fun with those avocados!! Your lime sauce looks great!

  7. Avocados are the best! And this recipe looks great – very creative use of the avocado!

  8. I love that type of food, yummy. I just got few avocados today, I definitely have to try zesty lime sauce.

  9. Lucky, lucky! I wish I had a big bag of avos waiting for me on my kitchen counter. They are my all time favorite food! I love to make chocolate avocado mousse. Just a couple of avos, some cocoa powder and a little sweetener. It’s insanely good. I definitely want to try out your taquito recipe. Thanks for the great post!

  10. Adelina Badalyan Says:

    This looks decadent! Thanks so much for the recipe!

  11. david cueva Says:

    isabel tell mom to make that

Leave a Reply

