Frozen Mango & Raspberry Mojito

Beat the heat with a perfectly chilled, slushy raspberry mango mojito. This drink was so good I am almost drooling thinking about it. It is midnight right now and I want to pull out my overly abused food processor covered in duck tape and make one…hmmm strongly considering it. Anyways, I had this drink ready for Mark when he got home from work and his response was “wow, I didn’t think Mojito’s could get any gayer”. This might sound like an insult if you don’t know Mark. But you see, Mark is not a big drinker, and when he does drink he likes to go for the “gay” or “girly” drinks.  This works out perfectly for me because I can make the fruity yummy drinks for the both of us and then drink his leftovers. If it was whisky straight up, I would be pouring it down the drain.

I love that he can admit to preferring the girly drinks. I didn’t feel like this always. In fact, I still get a bit embarrassed. When we are invited to go to someones house for a party or for poker night, instead of getting the “cool” beers he gets the Mike’s hard or wine coolers. I used to ask him if he would rather take something like Coronas or Heinekens just to spare him the criticism. Surprisingly, however, he openly admits to liking the girly drinks, takes the few moments of guy bashing courageously and proceed to enjoy his drinks. Cheers to all the honest men out there who like the appletinis, mojitos, long islands, and anything pink!

For some comedic content, here is Brian from Family Guy’s take on Mojitos.

And now, for the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • Rum
  • Lime Juice
  • Sugar
  • Frozen fruit
  • Mint leaves
  • Sparkling soda
  • Ice
  1. This video has great info on how to make a successful mojito. Start by watching this Youtube Mojito video.
  2. Now to make it a fruity mojito, blend some fruit (frozen fruit = partially frozen drink) into the lime and alcohol mixture
  3. Finish off with sparkling soda

Salud!

11 Responses to “Frozen Mango & Raspberry Mojito”

  1. What a lovely color and it looks delicious.

  2. We have been on the lookout for a new summer drink for an upcoming weekend away… I think we have just found it!

  3. What a great drink! Extremely pretty too!

  4. Dionne Baldwin Says:

    LOL my other half used to get long islands with a slice of lime or rum with “diet”. AAAA!!! Where’s the masculinity?? I drink a dirty martini or a snake bite and he gets a bazooka joe or a blue hawaiian??? What happened?? LOL…this one looks good and hey it’s got fruit and fruit is good for you. 😉 Gotta love our men for who they are. Thank you for sharing this one!

  5. My favorite drink, I love mojitos and margaritas yay 🙂

  6. Beautiful drink…I could use one right now 🙂

  7. Yum, yum and yum. Don’t think there’s much else to say. 🙂

  8. Sounds wonderful!

  9. This looks great & I bet I’d love it. To this day I don’t like beer, or straight alcohol. Good vodka and a Cranberry Sobe mixer works for me. I’ll have to stop by for Poker so Mark can have a moral support drinking buddy! Cheers for “girly” drinks!

  10. […] for Mark: Frozen Mango & Raspberry Mojito.  Rum, sugar, mango, mint, what’s not to […]

Leave a Reply

