Lemon Blueberry Cheesecake Muffins with Walnut Crumb Topping

Perfectly moist blueberry and white chocolate muffins with a cream cheese center and a sweet crumb walnut topping. Perfection. What’s more, you can freeze these muffins and have one whenever you get a craving for a “fresh” blueberry muffin!

I went blueberry picking almost a month ago and got a bucket full of blueberries.  I have been snacking on them almost every day, either plain or with yogurt (my favorite breakfast/snack/dessert!). I never thought they would last this long but they are now showing signs of aging. I needed to use up these babies so I gave in and made these muffins. I am not a big muffin person, and I am also not really into baking with fresh berries. I would much rather use frozen berries and eat the fresh ones plain. But when you have an abundance of fresh blueberries like I did…well…you just can’t resist.

Batter Ingredients:

  • 2 c. flour
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 c. canola oil
  • 1 c. buttermilk or yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • Orange zest (optional)
  • 1 1/2 c. fresh blueberries tossed in 1 tbsp flour (helps the berries not sink to the bottom)
  • 1/2 c. white chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Combine dry ingredients, set aside.
  2. Combine wet ingredients and mix together.
  3. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix GENTLY! Do not over-mix. Your batter should be lumpy, so just mix until ingredients are incorporated.
  4. Gently add blueberries and white chocolate.

Cream Cheese Ingredients:

  • 1 package cream cheese
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • Lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp sour cream
  • Powdered sugar, to taste (about 1/4 cup)
  • (optional) mash 1 ripe banana into cream mixture

Directions: Mix until you have a creamy mixture

Walnut Crumb Topping Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp butter, cold
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 c. ground walnuts

Directions: place all ingredients in food processor and mix until crumbly. If the butter gets too soft put it in the freezer for a few minutes.

Assembling the Muffins:

  1. Place about 2 tbsp muffin batter in muffin liners or greased muffin pan
  2. Place about 1 tbsp of cream cheese filling in middle
  3. Top with another 1 tbsp muffin batter to seal
  4. Finish off with about 1 tbsp crumb topping
  5. Bake at 375 for about 18 minutes.

16 Responses to “Lemon Blueberry Cheesecake Muffins with Walnut Crumb Topping”

  1. magicofspice Says:

    These look so moist and delicious 🙂

  2. Oh my…! I’m seriously drooling. You probably managed to put the ingredients I love most in one single recipe. Now I can’t close this window…I need to get blueberries to try it! Thanks for the great idea you shared

  3. Yum, they look beyond amazing!

    US Masala

  4. I have some frozen blueberries in my freezer so I might have to give this a try with those! Not as great as fresh, but hopefully still good! Love the topping especially. 🙂

  5. I love freezing muffins and then warming them up in the microwave for an easy breakfast. These look like wonderful muffins!

  6. I really really love this, they look fantastic and the recipe is just fabulous! Thanks for sharing! I tend to freeze my leftover blueberries and then take them out when I need them. I know they aren’t as good as being fresh, but sometimes its nice to have “fresh” blueberry pancakes in the dead of winter 😉

  7. Oooh! The banana mashed into the cream cheese mixture sounds amazing!

  8. Nothing beats a good blueberry muffin and with all these extra fixins these sound and look delicious!!

  9. My god! Could you fit any more delicious things into one muffin?? Yum.

  10. That is one crazy good recipe, wow. I mean WOW!

  11. Hi, I was wondering if I am going blind or did you put a baking temp and time down???? I want to make these asap, please let me know. Thanks

  12. LOL, I wonder if anybody has actually baked them yet……

  13. I’ve made this once before and am actually in the process of making them again (they’re coming out of the oven now). I made a few minor changes that aren’t worth mentioning because they don’t change the recipe too much, but these taste awesome. I ate 10 from my original batch.

  14. Absolutely wonderful. I took these to a farmer’s market and was asked to PLEASE bring them again!!! Great recipe and so enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

