Tallarines Verdes, Dessert, and A Light Box!


Wow, where do I begin.  Let’s start with the light box. What is a light box, you might ask? Well, here is the beautiful light box Mark built for me….

It’s purpose? To provide a place to photograph food when natural lighting is unavailable.  I know, I am a huge nerd, but this thing is absolutely necessary here in Seattle.  I took the sun for granted this summer, as it was perfectly sunny and the sun didn’t set until 9:30 PM.  If you look back at my pictures almost all of them where taken outside, it was fantastic!! And now the sun has said goodbye only making slight appearances in the days it is not raining and not cloudy, but only between the hours of 1-3. That’s a two hour window 2-3 days a week!! Obviously, I have been unable to take pictures these last couple of weeks, which made me sulky and glossy eyed.  In an attempt to make me happy once again Mark took several trips to Home Depo and came up with my solution.  It’s no natural light, but it will definitively do. Now all I need is a fancy camera!

And now, for the main course: Peruvian Tallarines Verdes, or Pasta with a creamy spinach basil sauce….

It’s similar to pesto sauce, but it’s much creamier and milder. I blended the spinach and basil with coconut milk, walnuts, feta cheese, cream cheese and parmesan (if pistachios weren’t so expensive I would have replaced them with the walnuts).  I also added some beautiful ribbons of zucchini.  This was my first time tasting Tallarines Verdes and I loved it!

Tallarines Verdes (Adapted from About.com…but i’m sure this one is better 😉 )

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 shallot

Directions: Saute butter, garlic, and shallot and blend with following ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. coconut milk or evaporated milk
  • 1/4 c. feta cheese
  • 1/4 c. cream cheese (Note: you can replace both cheeses with 1/2 c. queso fresco)
  • 1/4 c. parmesan cheese (plus more for garnish)
  • 1 entire bunch of spinach, thoroughly washed and dried
  • 1/2 – 1 c. fresh basil
  • 1/2 tsp salt, or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • Juice of 1/2 lime
  • Optional: 1 jalapeno, seeded

Directions: Place everything in blender and blend until creamy. Place in saucepan and slowly heat through, without letting it boil.

  • 1/2 package fettuccine, or pasta of your choice, cooked al dente
  • 2 large zucchinis, sliced lengthwise with vegetable peeler

Directions: When pasta is cooked, add a bit of olive oil to prevent sticking.  Place sliced zucchini in largo bowl and squirt a bit of lime and salt and pepper. Add hot noodles and cover with warm sauce. The heat of the noodles with slightly cook the zucchini.  You don’t want them too cooked though or else they will be limp. Serve and top with a bit of parmesan cheese. You can serve this as a main course, or as a side with grilled chicken or meat.

And now, for dessert: Lacquered Peach from The Cilantropist.

This delicious peach was baked in an apricot caramel glaze. The result is a soft, delicate sweet and juicy peach.  All of it’s peachy flavors are intensified…and when you pair the warm peach with ice cream…

Well it’s just heavenly!  I am sad to say Mark didn’t enjoy is as I did.  But to his defense, he said he wasn’t into “hot fruits”.  And to be fair, Mark is not really into desserts unless it has chocolate or it’s cheesecake.

But I posted this dessert specially for my Mom and Dad.  I know, without a doubt, they will absolutely love this dessert. Let me know if i’m right Mami (this is a test to see if she actually reads my posts).

Click here for the recipe

6 Responses to “Tallarines Verdes, Dessert, and A Light Box!”

  1. I love that lightbox, so sweet of Mark to do! This dish sounds amazing and will definitely have to give it a go soon!

  2. Great light box! I’ve been meaning to make one for myself. I used to live in Vancouver so I can imagine how natural light in Seattle would be hard to come by at certain times of the year!

    • Haha Mark doesnt like hot fruits or meat floating in liquid, he always finds a way to word things in the funniest way.

  3. O M G tallarines verdes son mis favoritossssssssssss ahhhhh voy a tratar esta receta!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 thanksssss

  4. Ha,ha,ha Claro que leo tus recetas todo el tiempo!! soy tu fan numero uno!! a propocito no puedo sacar esa receta del postre de durazno, se ve deliciosa. y tengo duraznos y helado a si que enviame la receta para manana ok?

  5. Light box! Great idea. My house is situated so that I get very little natural light and most of my food pix turn out awful!

    Way to go Mark!

Leave a Reply

