Baked Blue Cheese Jalapeno Poppers

Huge jalapenos stuffed with a mixture of cream cheese, blue cheese and green onions.  My only regret is that I didn’t have more jalapenos.

Whenever I buy chilies I remember going to the mexican grocery store with my Mom.  We were making a recipe that called for 1 chili pepper, and I got exactly one.  My mom hadn’t noticed, and when the lady at the register saw my one chile, they both started laughing uncontrollably. But in my defense, I didn’t want to be wasteful and have extra chilies spoil in our fridge! But I should have known that in our Mexican household, they would not have spoiled. I guess the correct thing to do is buy pounds of chiles. And with this recipe, I now will too. So go to your local Mexican grocery store and get a a bag full of jalapenos, cause everyone will be wanting more!

Ingredients:

  • Jalapenos, sliced and seeded
  • Filling: cream cheese, blue cheese, parmesan cheese, green onions, salt, pepper
  • Coating: flour (with salt, pepper & paprika), egg (with Frank’s buffalo sauce), and panko bread crumbs.

Directions:

  1. Slice and seed jalapenos
  2. Combine cream cheese, blue cheese, parmesan, green onions, and salt and pepper until smooth and creamy
  3. Fill each sliced jalapeno with filling and squeeze each half together.
  4. Place jalapenos in freezer while you make coating.
  5. Pre heat oven to 425 degrees
  6. Dip jalapenos in flour, then egg, then panko. Repeat process one more time.
  7. Bake jalapenos until coating is golden brown, about 10-15 minutes.

Note: if you want a better crunch, you can also fry these up, if you don’t mind the extra calories.



5 Responses to “Baked Blue Cheese Jalapeno Poppers”

  1. I absolutely love jalapeno poppers and these sound fantastic! They would definitely be great to serve on a lazy Sunday full of watching football!

  2. Yummy! Never thought of blue cheese in a jalapeno popper. But I love it!

  3. This is perfect party food and the panko brings it up a notch!

  4. You are tagged !!! Come visit my page and fill out a survey for me to get to know you better !!

    Have a wonderful and fabulous weekend !!
    Jen @ http://www.passion4food.ca

  5. They look super delicious..cheesy n yummy!

    US Masala

Leave a Reply

