Pumpkin Pie Stuffed Pancakes

I know, another pumpkin recipe.  But I feel like I am allowed to be slightly obsessed with pumpkin this time of year, as is everyone else.  I haven’t made pancakes in a while, and I had buttermilk I had to use up so woke up this weekend determined to make these.  Originally I was going to make pumpkin pancakes with chocolate chips (Mark’s favorite), but I decided there was not enough pumpkin in these.  That’s when I came up with the stuffed with “pumpkin pie” idea with the leftover pumpkin puree. I still made Mark’s with chocolate chips topped with maple syrup, but mine were regular pumpkin pancakes topped with nutella. I think mine was better.

This pumpkin filling would also be great with crepes.  I think I may just try that for tomorrow’s breakfast! Update: I tried this crepe recipe with the leftover pumpkin filling…to die for! Even better than the pancakes, in my opinion.

Pumpkin Pancake Ingredients:

  • 2 c. flour, sifter,
  • 3 tbsp powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 tsp baking powder, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice (or nutmeg)
  • 1 c. buttermilk
  • 3/4 c. pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 c. club soda
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature and lightly whisked
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Semi sweet chocolate chips (optional)
  • Toppings: nutella or maple syrup (optional: nuts, whipped cream)

Directions: combine wet ingredients and dry ingredients in separate bowls. Combine the two GENTLY and let sit for about 10 minutes. On buttered or oiled griddle pour 1/4 c. batter and lightly spread out. Cook on med heat, flip and cook all the way thorough.


Pumpkin Pie Filling Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. cream cheese
  • 2/3 c. pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 c. cool whip
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • Cinnamon + pumpkin spice

Directions: Combine until smooth and creamy. Spoon 1/4 c. in between 2 pancakes and top with a layer of nutella OR maple syrup.

7 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Stuffed Pancakes”

  1. Oh wow, do those looks and sound good! I too cannot get enough of these pumpkin recipes.

  2. These sound wonderful! Decadent and desert like! I want some ;)!

  3. Wow! That filling sounds delicious

  4. Yum! This might make it on the breakfast table for Thanksgiving!

  5. Wow the pumpkin pie looks so yummy. The filling looks creamy and rich. I can’t wait to try it 🙂

  6. Now this would be a perfect fall breakfast and I don’t even like pancakes all that much! I could eat the pumpkin pie filling by the spoonful!

  7. This looks like a deliciously rich pumpkin pie pancake!! I might have to try it soon.

Leave a Reply

