Red Lentils & Red Wine Soup

I love lentils.  I could seriously eat them for every meal.  Problem is Mark is not too fond of them.  But I think I have solved the problem!  This was my first time using red lentils. These are much smaller than green lentils, and I found they weren’t as overpowering.  Because of their miniature size, they are not front-and-center.  The soup really looked more like a vegetable soup, which doesn’t really help me much since Mark does not really like soup either.  I was prepared for Mark’s picky self to refuse to eat dinner, but to my surprise he ate his entire bowl, and then asked for another!  He did note, however, that these would be even better with spicy portuguese sausage.  And I agree. Even though I don’t eat meat, I think the addition of sausage would be fantastic in this soup.

What makes this lentil soup special is the addition red wine, balsamic vinegar, and yams. The balsamic and yams give the soup a slight sweetness to it, while the red pepper flakes gives it heat (the spicy sausage would also serve this purpose). Best lentil soup I have made thus far.

Lentil Soup Ingredients:

  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, grated
  • 4 celery stocks, diced
  • 3-4 carrots, diced
  • 1 sweet potato or yam, diced
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 package spinach, thawed
  • 1 1/2 c. red lentils (or 1 c. green lentils)….red lentils are smaller than the green ones
  • 4 c. water
  • 3 c. chicken or veg. stock
  • 1 c. red wine
  • 1/2 c. balsamic vinegar
  • Seasoning: salt, pepper, oregano, italian seasoning, cumin, red pepper flakes
  • Topping: plain yogurt (or sour cream), parmesan cheese
  • (optional) spicy italian or portuguese sausage

Directions: Saute veggies for about 10 minutes in light olive oil.  Add lentils and crushed tomatoes.  Add liquid and spices. Cover and cook on med heat for about 1 hour. Serve with plain yogurt (or sour cream) and parmesan cheese.

5 Responses to “Red Lentils & Red Wine Soup”

  1. Sound like real comfort food, delicious.

  2. I always love your recipes and in case you haven’t seen I gave you a Loveliest Blog Award at http://www.anniesdish.com/2010/11/whole-wheat-pumpkin-muffins.html

  3. SUSANA CUEVA Says:

    OH I HAVE TO MAKE THIS AND SOON!!!!! I LOVE LENTILS AS WELL, AND JUST LIKE MARK, JAIME ISN’T TOO FOND OF THEM EITHER… SO I CAN NEVER MAKE IT.. MY MOM USED TO MAKE THEM ALL THE TIME FOR US. AND I GET TO ADD THE SAUSAGE!! YUM. YUM THANKS ISA!

  4. I do love lentils, red or green. And red lentil soup is one of my favorites. Never tried it in your way though. Bet the celery stock gives a great flavor to this soup. I would squeeze lemon in my bowl. I think lemon perfectly completes its flavor.

  5. 2nd chance checking…

    Good info…

Leave a comment